Maa Siddhidatri: 9th Day of Navratri; Puja, Mantra, Aarti

Siddhidatri – Ninth Day of Navratri

The ninth form of Nav Durga, Maa Siddhidatri Is devoted on the 9th day of Navratri. Who is Maa Siddhidatri? What is the story of Siddhidatri? What is the significance of the Navratri ninth day? Here’s everything you need to know about the ninth form of Goddess Durga. You can also find the mantra and aarti of Maa Siddhidatri here.

Who is Maa Siddhidatri?

The ninth day of Navratri is devoted to Maa Siddhidatri, which falls in the Maha Navami. On Maha Navami, Maa Durga is worshipped as Mahisasura Mardini which means the Annihilator of the Buffalo Demon. It is believed that on Maha Navami day Durga killed the demon Mahishasura.

9th Day of Navratri

“Siddhi” means supernatural power or the ability to achieve a sense of the ultimate source of creation and existence and “Dhatri” means the giver.

According to the scriptures, there are 8 types of Siddhis – 

  • Anima
  • Mahima 
  • Garima
  • Laghima 
  • Prapti
  • Prakamya 
  • Inshitva
  • Vashitva

Maha Shakti gives all these Siddhis.

Siddhidatri Devi is depicted to be wearing a red-coloured saree and riding over a lion. Ensconced upon a lotus with 4 arms, and is the possessor of 26 different wishes to grant her devotees.

She holds a lotus in her lower left hand, a Shankha in her upper left hand, a Chakra in her upper right hand, and a Gada(weapon) in her lower right hand. Maa Siddhidatri’s famous pilgrim Centre is located in Nanda Parvat which is in the Himalayas. This form of Durga is worshipped by all God, Rishis-Munis, Yogi, and Devotees for attaining the best religious asset.

Significance of the 9th Day of Navratri

On the 9th day of Navratri, devotees should put all their attention toward the Nirvana cycle. This chakra is located in the middle of our skull. By doing so, the devotees receive the power present in their Nirvana Chakra by the grace of Mother Siddhidatri. If we worship her, we may get the ultimate power to realize true existence. She is also said to help remove ignorance.

Maa Siddhidatri Story (9th Day of Navratri)

When the universal mother was gripped with the idea of projecting creation, she, first of all, created lord Shiva. During the beginning of the creation of the universe, Lord Shiva worshipped Adi Parashakti to endow him with perfections. For this purpose, the universal mother (Durga) produced the goddess Siddhidatri from her own person. Mythology says that Lord Shiva was blessed by Siddhidatri by giving all eight Siddhis rare perfections and powers. Lord Shiva was thereafter also glorified by the name Ardhanariswar. She thus appeared from the left half of Shiva.

Having acquired the siddhis from goddess Siddhidatri lord Shiva created Lord Vishnu who in turn created lord Brahma who was entrusted with the task of creation whereas lord Vishnu got the task of protection and Lord Shiva that of destruction.

Maa Siddhidatri Mantra (9th Day of Navratri)

“Om Devi Siddhidatryai Namah”

Siddha Gandharva Yakhsadyairasurairamarairapi |

Sevyamana Sada Bhuyat Siddhida Siddhidayini ||

Ya Devi Sarvabhuteshu Maa Siddhidatri Rupena Samsthita |

Namastasye Namastasye Namastasye Namo Namah ||

Maa Siddhidatri Aarti (9th Day of Navratri)

जय सिद्धिदात्री माँ तू सिद्धि की दाता। तु भक्तों की रक्षक तू दासों की माता॥

तेरा नाम लेते ही मिलती है सिद्धि। तेरे नाम से मन की होती है शुद्धि॥

कठिन काम सिद्ध करती हो तुम। जभी हाथ सेवक के सिर धरती हो तुम॥

तेरी पूजा में तो ना कोई विधि है। तू जगदम्बें दाती तू सर्व सिद्धि है॥

रविवार को तेरा सुमिरन करे जो। तेरी मूर्ति को ही मन में धरे जो॥

तू सब काज उसके करती है पूरे। कभी काम उसके रहे ना अधूरे॥

तुम्हारी दया और तुम्हारी यह माया। रखे जिसके सिर पर मैया अपनी छाया॥

सर्व सिद्धि दाती वह है भाग्यशाली। जो है तेरे दर का ही अम्बें सवाली॥

हिमाचल है पर्वत जहां वास तेरा। महा नंदा मंदिर में है वास तेरा॥

मुझे आसरा है तुम्हारा ही माता। भक्ति है सवाली तू जिसकी दाता॥

Also Read-

Why is Navratri Celebrated

9 Days of Navratri

9 Colors of Navratri

Navratri Ashtami Kanya Pujan

Shailputri – 1st Day of Navratri

Brahmacharini – 2nd Day of Navratri

Chandraghanta – 3rd Day of Navratri

Kushmanda – 4th Day of Navratri

Skandmata – 5th Day of Navratri

Mahagauri – 8th Day of Navratri