Maa Chandraghanta- Third Day of Navratri

Spread the love

Each day of the Navratri is devoted to one of the nine avatars of Maa Durga. The nine different forms are Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayini, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri.

Maa Chandraghanta

The third day of Navratri is devoted to Maa Chandraghanta, the third form of Maa Durga, who is married to Lord Shiva after Maa Shailputri and Maa Brahmacharini. She is charming and bright. She looks golden in color.

She adorns a half-circular moon on her forehead hence the name Chandraghanta. Chandra + Ghanta, meaning supreme bliss and knowledge, showering peace and serenity, like a cool breeze on a moonlit night.

She has three eyes and eight hands holding weapons like Trishul, Gada, bow-arrow, sword, lotus flower, bell (known as ghanta), and water pot (Kamandal), and one hand remains in the mudras of gestures of boon giving and stopping harm.

She rides a tiger or a lion as a symbol of bravery and is also known as Chandika and Ranachandi.

Maa Chandraghanta – Third Day of All Navratri in 2023









Magha Gupta Navratri

14 February



Chaitra Navratri

24 March



Ashadha Gupta Navratri

13 July



Shardiya Navratri

17 October


Maa Chandraghanta Story – Third Day of Navratri

As the legend goes, Goddess Parvati was devastated after Lord Shiva said that he would not marry any woman. However, her sufferings overwhelmed Him and He agreed to the union. When Lord Shiva brought the wedding procession, Parvati’s parents were terrorized to see gods, mortals, ghouls, ghosts, goblins, aghories in the procession. When her mother fainted, Parvati took the form of her fearsome self and transformed herself into Maa Chandraghanta to save her family.

On being persuaded, Lord Shiva reappeared as a charming prince adorning jewels and the two get married. While she is a very serene being, when provoked, her fury could know no bounds. She is always in the fierce war posture, ready to take on evil and demons.

Maa Chandraghanta Mantra – Third Day of Navratri

Om Aim Hreem Chandraghantay Namah ||

Om Devi Chandraghantayayi Namah(108 times)

Pindaj Pravaarudhchandkopastrkairyuta |

Prasadam Tanute Madhyam Chandraghantetivishrutaa ||

Maa Chandraghanta Aarti – Third Day of Navratri

जय माँ चन्द्रघण्टा सुख धाम। पूर्ण कीजो मेरे काम॥

चन्द्र समाज तू शीतल दाती। चन्द्र तेज किरणों में समाती॥

मन की मालक मन भाती हो। चन्द्रघण्टा तुम वर दाती हो॥

सुन्दर भाव को लाने वाली। हर संकट में बचाने वाली॥

हर बुधवार को तुझे ध्याये। श्रद्दा सहित तो विनय सुनाए॥

मूर्ति चन्द्र आकार बनाए। शीश झुका कहे मन की बाता॥

पूर्ण आस करो जगत दाता। कांचीपुर स्थान तुम्हारा॥

कर्नाटिका में मान तुम्हारा। नाम तेरा रटू महारानी॥

भक्त की रक्षा करो भवानी। 

Also Read-

Why Is Navratri Celebrated

Nine Days of Navratri 

9 Colors of Navratri

Maa Shailputri- First Day of Navratri

Maa Brahmacharini- Second Day of Navratri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *