Send Your Festival Creativity and Get Published. Contact Us On

9 Colours of Navratri | Navratri Colours and their Meaning

 Colours play an important role to make our life vibrant and colourful. If we talk about festivals, it brings happiness, prosperity and joy to our life. If we collectively think about festivals and colours we found both interlinked with each other. As we know the Holi festival is the festival of colours, likewise the Navratri festival also has the importance of colours.

Navratri is one of the Most Important Hindu Festivals. It is going to be celebrated from 7th October 2021 to 15th October 2021 this year. There is a tradition to wear dresses that represent the colours of Navratri on each of the 9 days. There are 9 different Navratri colours in 2021. Find out the Navratri Color Sequence for 2021.

Use these colours as a guide and make this Navratri more colourful.


Nine Colors of Navratri

Navratri Colors traditions are commonly followed in the western region of India. In Maharashtra and Gujarat, girls, women and even some enthusiast men also follow the colours by wearing a Saree or dress of the colour of that day. This tradition is followed throughout from the first day to the 9th day of Navratri.

Since each day of the Navratri festival is dedicated to one particular form of Goddess Durga, each day has significance in terms of colour also. Devotees not only wear those coloured sarees and dresses for that day but also decorate the idol of Goddess in that particular coloured saree. Each colour has a significance of its own and represents different forms of the Goddess.

Nine Colours of Navratri

  • First Day - (7th October) - Thursday - Yellow 
  • Second Day - (8th October) - Friday - Green 
  • Third Day - (9th October) - Saturday - Grey 
  • Fourth Day - (11th October) - Sunday - Orange 
  • Fifth Day - (11th October) - Sunday – White
  • Sixth Day - (12th October) - Monday - Red
  • Seventh Day - (13th October) - Tuesday - Royal Blue 
  • Eighth Day - (14th October) - Wednesday – Pink
  • Ninth Day - (15th October) - Thursday - Purple


Navratri Colours and Their Meaning

Navratri Colour - Orange

The orange colour is made up of the red and yellow colour which signifies positive energy and happiness respectively.

Navratri Colour - White

White colour is synonymous with purity and innocence and brings inner peace and security to a person.

Navratri Colour - Red

The red colour is the colour of energy, love and creativity which indicates strong leadership signs.

Navratri Colour - Royal Blue

Royal blue stands for panache and elegance. It represents richness and tranquillity.

Navratri Colour - Yellow

The colour stands for optimism and joy. This warm colour keeps the person cheerful all day. The yellow colour is the identification of happiness, freshness and brightness.

Navratri Colour - Green

The Colour green symbolises new beginnings. The green colour is to evoke a sense of growth, fertility, peace and serenity.

Navratri Colour - Grey

In Navratri colours, grey colour is the best and signifies the power of conceptual understanding and peace. This colour balances emotions and keeps the person down-to-earth.

Navratri Colour - Purple

The colour represents richness and opulence.

Navratri Colour - Peacock Green

The Colour peacock green represents beauty and Compassion. It is also a sign of integrity.

How Navratri Colours Are Decided?

During the Navratri festival, each year we get a different set of colours to be followed. How these colours are decided..?

The secret of the colours changes every day is in the day on which it starts. The first colour of the Navratri is decided based on the weekday when Navratri begins and the remaining 8 days follow a fixed cycle of colours. So it follows a pattern-

  • During Weekdays such as first Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday will be having White, Red, Royal Blue, Yellow, Green, Grey and Orange. In whichever order, they come. 7 days hence 7 colours.
  • The first repeating weekday that is in the second cycle of the week the colours followed are Pink and purple and/or sky blue alternatively. + 2 remaining days +2 colours

9 Days of Navratri and Navratri Colours

First Day of Navratri - Devi Shailaputri

The first day of Navratri is dedicated to Devi – Shailaputri. She is the absolute form of Mother Nature and symbolizes strength. On this day and she is dressed in Grey colour. Know more about the First Day of Navratri

Second Day of Navratri - Devi Brahmacharini

The second day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Durga – Brahmacharini – the female seeking spiritual knowledge. In this form, Goddess Durga or Parvati goes to the verdant mountains to do penance. On this day and she is dressed in an Orange colour. Know more about the Second Day of Navratri

Third Day of Navratri - Devi Chandraghanta

The third day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Chandraghanta. on this day and she is dressed in White colour. Know more about the Third Day of Navratri

Fourth Day of Navratri - Devi Kushmanda

The fourth form of Goddess Durga is Kushmanda. She is Powerful enough to live in the Sun. on this day and she is dressed in Red colour.

Fifth Day of Navratri - Devi Skandamata

The fifth form of Devi is Skandamata – mother of Skanda or Kartikeya, the war-god. The Devi holding her baby in her lap is a symbol of the purity of a mother’s love. on this day and she is dressed in Royal Blue colour.

Sixth Day of Navratri - Devi Katyayani

The sixth form of Devi is Katyayani. She is a fierce form of Goddess Durga believed to be formed out of the anger of the Gods. on this day and she is dressed in Yellow colour.

Seventh Day of Navratri - Devi Kaalratri

The seventh form of Devi is Kaalratri. She is a destructive form of the Goddess and is also called Kali. on this day and she is dressed in Green colour.

Eighth Day of Navratri - Devi Mahagauri

The eighth form of Devi is Mahagauri. on this day and she is dressed in Peacock Green colour. Know more about the Eighth Day of Navratri

Ninth Day of Navratri - Devi Siddhidatri

The ninth form of Devi is Siddhidatri. on this day and she is dressed in Purple colour. Know more about the Ninth Day of Navratri

Also Read-

Why is Navratri Celebrated?

Nine Days of Navratri Goddess

No comments:

Post a Comment